We danced.
Twirling,flipping and flowing. A myriad of colours floating by. We had broken off the group:become lone yet bonded. We danced. A high pedestal did we dance upon. Yes! to the agony of others.
As if blown by the wind,we swayed from side to side,her auburn edges-like rust-favoured steel- dazzling in the sun. My brown tips gleaming with pride; Head raised, she looked upwards,meeting my stare as if to ask a question.
“Shhh” was my hissed yet meaningful answer.
The music dwindled and the wind slowed. Gently-no-softly did we descend. My dance partner and I. A sudden sadness overcame us as our smiles faded and our edges crinkled. Silence…silence swallowed us as we drifted apart. She to land in her group and I, to land in mine.
Separated as we were, I felt life’s claws raking through me. Pain and agony did I feel:.Yes!…yes. And as I crumbled, I caught one last glance at my partner in dance. Her expression, a mirror of mine.
I let myself go.
…Somewhere, In the world of humans. A red-haired child yelled “Mum, I’m done raking the yard”. He ran forward, stomping on the autumn leaves. For autumn was the season.
And leaves we were.

